Hello world!

I’m a 59 year old mother of three adult children who have given me ten beautiful grandchildren.   Sadly one of these beautiful babies lost her struggle for life after only 16 days on this earth.

I’m disabled,  with lots of time on my hands, so I thought I might try my hand at blogging.  Maybe my life can be a source of encouragement and entertainment to others.  For single mothers, you can see that you’re not alone, others have walked in your shoes and lived to tell about it.

My postings will be a combination of what was, what is and what I pray for in the future.  Some will be sad, some comical and some observational.  Of course, being a Mawmaw (grandma for those who don’t speak baby), I’ll also give some advice.  A young friend told me she thinks I’m a very wise, knowledgeable person.  I hope I prove her right!  Thanks Nicole, what a beautiful compliment.

I was born in June 1951 in Fort Worth, Texas to a young unmarried mother who was unable to take care of me and was thus adopted by my maternal grandparents.  I will be eternally grateful to them.  They were in their mid 40s when I was born.  Daddy was a self employed sign painter and for most of my life, Mama was a homemaker.  Mama never intended for me to know  that I was adopted.  She warned EVERYONE against telling me.  She finally  told me herself, after a near death experience, when I was 29 years old.

As a child, I was in love with my big brother, Bubba.   There was 14 years difference in our age.  I loved going for rides on my Bubbba’s motorcycle, especially down to the local drive-in hamburger joint. I loved all the attention the car hops gave me and so did my brother. Years later I realized he was using me for date bait.  My brother ended up marrying the girl next door.  He used me for date bait to get her, too!   I remember telling people that when I grew up I was either going to marry my Bubba or Elvis Presley.  I struck out both times on that one.

Sometime during my 7th year I got my own bed in my own bedroom for the first time in my life.  I didn’t like it.  I had been in bed with my Mama from the time I was six months old and had pneumonia.  I was terrified!  I could not sleep with the door to my room closed.  I finally acclimated, though.  It’s a good thing, I’ve spent more years sleeping alone than not.   There was so much going on during those times that were scary such as the Cuban Missel Crisis…not knowing but what we’d be bombed at any moment!  I remember falling asleep with a transistor radio under my pillow and begging God to let there be a tomorrow.

So many thoughts are swirling in my head but, it’s time for a nebulizer treatment and pain medications.  My  little dog is looking like she could use a hug, too.  So I’ll close for now.  Hope I haven’t been too boring and you’ve gotten an idea what my posts will be like.

The following link has meant a lot to me especially since the loss of my precious grandchild.

 

 

Leave a Reply

